Thursday, August 27, 2009

Vanthli Nagarpalika Junagadh District News Samachar

Congress candidate elected president of Vanthli Nagarpalika.

With the support of two BJP councilors, the Congress managed to establish its control in the Vanthali nagarpalika in Junagadh district on Monday.
The Congress move gave the BJP yet another political setback at the local level.

Congress candidate Jitendra Rijiwadiya was elected president of the nagarpalika as the BJP failed to even nominate its candidate for the post, giving the Congress candidate almost a walkover.
Of the total 21 elected members in the civic body, Rijiwadiya managed to garner the support of 12. The Congress has only 10 elected members in the house, while the BJP has 11 members. Two BJP councilors, Vijay Trambadiya and Vrijlal Vamja supported the Congress candidate.

An official said: “In the absence of a rival candidate, Rijiwadiya was declared president with the support of 12 elected members,” said an official. Earlier, the BJP had ruled Vanthli nagarpalika for a year.

But after the revolt in the civic body, the BJP lost majority and was ousted from power. Thereafter, BJP rebel Hitesh Vadariya joined the Congress, which appointed him as president of the civic body.

After ruling for a month, Vadariya resigned as president a week ago, which necessitated the election for the post of president.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts